“Choreographers are born not made”

An adage proved old fashioned by the Natya Institute of Kathak & Choreography (N.I.K.C.), Specially designed to nurture the creative abilities of students N.I.K.C. has designed a unique 3-year course that provides students the right atmosphere for them to make a mark as performers and choreographers of a high caliber. The faculty at the N.I.K.C. is made up of eminent artistes and experts from the field of dance, music, theatre, design and the allied arts.

A unique 3 year B.A. Degree Course in CHOREOGRAPHY
Specially designed to nurture creativity
Last date for applications - June 5th 2012


www.natyamaya.in / www.stemdancekampni.in
Phone: 080 23348645



Natya Institute of Kathak and Choreography was started in Delhi in 1964
with the co-operation of Padma Vibhushan Smt Kamala Devi Chattopadhya, under the aegis of the Bharthi Natya Sangh ( Indian Center of the ITI – International Theatres Institutions Trust – affiliated to UNESCO).

In 1987 at the behest of former Chief Minister, Shri Ramakrishna Hegde,
the Natya Institute of Kathak & Choreography (N.I.K.C.) was established in Bangalore with the assistance of the Government of Karnataka.

Since it’s inception the N.I.K.C. has been providing a forum for
dance education in India. It’s uniqueness lies is using traditional dance methodology alongside modern pedagogy techniques, keeping in pace
with the global trends in dance education.

To create an institution for systematic training (of an International standard)
in dance and to therefore create a high standard in dance, dance presentation and dance education in India.

Prestigious organizations like the I.C.C.R., Ministry of External Affairs,
Dept of Culture
, Ministry of H.R.D. Sangeet Natak Akademi recognize the pioneering contribution of the N.I.K.C. by recruiting the graduates
on teaching & choreography assignments internationally, according research and production grants, and fellowships to help the graduates
pursue their careers in dance theatre.


The advisory panel luminaries are:

Bharatratna Pandit Ravishankar
Anil Biswas
M.S. Sathyu
C.R. Simha
B.V.K. Shastry
Rajiv Taranath
late Smt. Kamaladevi Chattopadhya

Current members are:

Mahesh Dattani (noted playwright and filmmaker) – Chairman
Vimala Rangachar (Chairman, Crafts Council) – Vice Chairman
Maya Rao – Executive Director
Dr. Preeti Shankar (Scientist, Indian Institute of Science) – Treasurer
Geeta Naraynan (Director, Srishti school of Design) – Member
K.S. Narahari (Director, Corporate Communications, Dell International ) – Member
Madhu  – Stem Dance Kampni
The Director , Directorate of Kannada and Culture – Govt of Karnataka.

designed & developed by www.FLIPDESIGN.in